Department Information

See each department page below for teacher contact information and other department information

AVID


Juilanne Lohr-Shelton AVID 8
jlohrshelton@djusd.net

Jennifer Fung - AVID 9
jfung@djusd.net


Electives
Yves Bouyssounouse 
Home Economics
ybouyssounouse@djusd.net

Dustin Greenler  
Yearbook
dgreenler@djusd.net

James Shimek
Technology, Multimedia, Robotics
jshimek@djusd.net

Mike Tobey
Leadership and Bridge 
mtobey@djusd.net

Carrie Ziser
Art
cziser@djusd.net

Julianne Lohr-Shelton-Bridge 
jlohrshelton@djusd.net

English
Jonathan Dunsworth - English 7, English 8
jdunsworth@djusd.net

Katie Herrick-Jasper - English 9
kherrickjasper@djusd.net

Rebecca Honig - English 7
rhonig@djusd.net

Kristen Tannyhill - English 9, Humanities
ktannyhill@djusd.net
English Learners
Maggie Wu - STEEL
mwu@djusd.net

Katie Herrick-Jasper - ELD 
kherrickjasper@djusd.net

Rebecca Honig - STEEL 
rhonig@djusd.net

Harper Junior High School provides 3 levels of designated ELD (English Language Development) classes. All English Learners will be assigned ELD courses either in ELD or STEEL. Students' course designation will be determined by looking at a variety of factors, including their scores on the most recent ELPAC exam. Teachers work together in these courses, and sometimes students will combine with other ELD classes for learning opportunities. Students are able to move easily between the ELD courses, moving to the appropriate level without a disruption to the rest of their schedule.

Check out our English Learner website for more details and upcoming dates.
Health
Briana Sanchez - Health 7, Health 9
bsanchez@djusd.net
Math
Math picture
“Math is the only true universal language”

Yves Bouyssounouse
 
CC Math 2, CC Math 3
ybouyssounouse@djusd.net

Jack Dapkewicz 
Integrated Math 1
jdapkewicz@djusd.net

Jennifer Fung 
Integrated Math 2, CC Math 3
jfung@djusd.net


Patty Latham
CC Math 2, CC Math 2/ 3
platham@djusd.net

Music
Welcome to the Harper Music Department!

As lifelong musicians ourselves, we believe deeply in the power of a music education to enhance a person's emotional, social, and intellectual development. 
And - making music together is fun!

Please use the links below to connect with our music teachers.

Greg Brucker
- Orchestra
gbrucker@djusd.net
Orchestra Website

Arielle Deem - Choir
adeem@djusd.net
Choir Website 

Clyde Quick - Band
cquick@djusd.net
Band Website 
Band Boosters Website 


Physical Education
Darcie Hauger - 7th Grade
dhauger@djusd.net

Heather Taylor - 8th Grade
htaylor@djusd.net

Tom Taylor - 9th Grade
totaylor@djusd.net

Liz Fall- 7th grade long term substitute
lfall@djusd.net
Science
Science Team












Sarah Huminski
Science 7, Science 8
sgarbers@djusd.net

Julie Lohr-Shelton
Science 7
jlohrshelton@djusd.net

Ken McKim
Science 8, Biology
kmckim@djusd.net

Jenny Chase S
Science 8 and Biology
Social Science
Welcome to the History Department!

Harper Junior High School’s History Department provides students with an opportunity to work toward achieving the six goals of DJUSD’s graduate profile through an exploration of centuries of global history. By examining the political, religious, social, and economic influences throughout history, students will create connections to the modern world. Through collaboration, our department works to ensure students are developing critical thinking skills while considering multiple perspectives both in history and in the classroom. At Harper, students will explore world civilizations around the world in 7th grade, the birth and development of the United States in 8th grade, and modern global geography and issues in 9th grade. Our goal as social science instructors is to help Harper students leave the school ready to be better global citizens.

Jacob Schauberger- U.S. History and World Geography
jschauberger@djusd.net

Dustin Greenler - World Geography and Social Studies 7
dgreenler@djusd.net

Mike Tobey
- U.S. History
mtobey@djusd.net

Ma Lee Vang -Social Studies 7
mvang@djusd.net

Special Education
Cydnee Vierra  
Psychologist
cvierra@djusd.net

Jennifer Hessl
jhessl@djusd.net

Jeff Perkins
jperkins@djusd.net

Carol Sorensen
csorensen@djusd.net
World Languages


Naoko McHale - Japanese 
nmchale@djusd.net
Mrs. McHale's Website

Kelly Ridgeway - Spanish
kridgeway@djusd.net

Jacob Fernandez-Spanish 
jfernandez@djusd.net

Kirsten Street-Spanish 
kstreet@djusd.net